Megatrend: mass customization

Robotics in particular are set to account for a substantial portion of the megatrend that is mass customization, Bernd Zipper firmly believes. Markets like packaging, labeling, textiles, promotion etc have already been virtually “fueled” by it“.

Prof. Frank Piller, RWTH Aachen

“Increasing customization of demand and the emergence of long-tail markets are forcing companies to reinvent themselves and achieve a new degree of flexibility. Mass customization is a key strategy in mastering this challenge”, says Prof. Dr. Frank Piller. He is Director of the Institute of Technology and Innovation Management at RWTH Aachen and has analyzed the way mass customization is put into practice at more than 200 different organizations in the last ten years. His conclusion: “mass customization provides a set of action options that can be applied in most companies.”

Successful mass customization is based, according to Prof. Piller, on a series of strategic skills that complement and enhance an existing business over time. He talked about this in his presentation using sports footwear manufacturers as an example. An impressive example: every year Adidas offers 8,400 footwear variants and it has recognized that mass customization has a massive impact on customer retention and therefore combines the purchase, usage and repeat purchase of its running shoes in a model that can be compared to a “subscription model”.

He emphasized that mass customization is exclusively based on the fact that people are different. “But nobody is interested in customization per se. They are more interested in the aftereffects and take a certain pleasure in configuring their own products.” A configurator needs to be as simple as possible to back up the buying experience.

But Prof. Piller does not see the innovators as being in manufacturing industry; online print has guided the mass customization market into a new generation.

2018-04-03T13:40:12+00:0003/04/2018|

Megatrend Mass Customization

Gerade die Robotik wird einen erheblichen Anteil am Megatrend Mass Customization ausmachen, ist Bernd Zipper überzeugt. Hiervon würden heute schon Märkte wie Packaging, Labeling, Textile, Promotion etc. geradezu „befeuert“.

Prof. Frank Piller, RWTH Aachen

„Die zunehmende Individualisierung der Nachfrage und das Aufkommen von Long-Tail-Märkten zwingen Unternehmen dazu, sich neu zu erfinden und ein neues Maß an Flexibilität zu erreichen. Mass Customization ist eine Schlüsselstrategie, um diese Herausforderung zu meistern“, weiß Prof. Dr. Frank Piller. Er ist Director des Instituts of Technology and Innovation Management an der RWTH Aachen und hat Mass Customization in den letzten zehn Jahren bei mehr als 200 verschiedenen Organisationen untersucht. Sein Fazit: „Mass Customization bietet ein Set an Handlungsoptionen, die in den meisten Unternehmen anwendbar sind.“

Erfolgreiche Mass Customization baut laut Prof. Piller auf einer Reihe strategischer Fähigkeiten auf, die im Laufe der Zeit ein bestehendes Geschäft ergänzen und bereichern. In seinem Vortrag stellte er dies am Beispiel der Sportschuhhersteller vor. Beeindruckendes Beispiel: Adidas bietet jedes Jahr 8.400 Schuh-Varianten an, hat erkannt, dass Mass Customization die Kundenbindung massiv beeinflusst und verknüpft Kauf, Nutzung und den Neuerwerb seiner Laufschuhe vergleichbar mit einem „Abomodell“.

Dabei machte er deutlich, dass Mass Customization ausschließlich davon lebt, dass Menschen   unterschiedlich sind. „Aber für Customization an sich interessiert sich kein Mensch. Sie interessieren sich für die Effekte danach und haben eine gewisse Freude am Konfigurieren eigener Produkte.“ Dabei müsse ein Konfigurator so einfach wie möglich sein, um das Kauferlebnis zu unterstützen.

Hier sieht Prof. Piller die Innovatoren aber nicht in der herstellenden Industrie: Onlineprint habe den Markt der Mass Customization in eine neue Generation geführt.

2018-09-14T15:00:36+00:0023/03/2018|