Of course, when he opened the first day of OPS with his keynote speech, he could not have known that drupa 2020 would be cancelled. The content of the keynote speech was aimed at the upcoming major events in the industry.

Rainer Hundsdörfer, CEO of Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG, outlined his vision of how print must function in the future. Simultaneously, he pointed out the hurdles still to be overcome by the industry in order to master the next stage of the print evolution. He shared his vision of the new “DNA for Print” exclusively, and for the first time publicly, with the participants of OPS 2020.

Of course, Hundsdörfer did not miss the opportunity to address the current economic situation of the company in his keynote speech, which has recently been severely torn apart by the German business press. “Heidelberg is far from collapsing, even if there are strange articles wandering the scene,” said Hundsdörfer. With a global market share of 42% in sheetfed offset presses, Heidelberg is more than relevant to the market and can still be seen as a technology leader, he stated. He added that the company’s range of products has long gone beyond pure mechanical engineering and now includes the consistent digitalization and automation of all production processes.

“Our path forward is to take the next step towards the smart print shop, and then move from the smart print shop to the smart print media industry,” said Hundsdörfer. However, this would require clarifying a few questions and seeking answers: How do I process more and more jobs in the shortest possible time? How do I achieve consistently high productivity regardless of the operator? Where do I even get the personnel from? How do I further advance the digitization of processes? And how do I automate supplier and customer management?

At his keynote speech, Rainer Hundsdörfer, CEO of Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG, made a big splash with the announcement of the creation of an open, multi-vendor platform.

His answer to this bundle of questions: “Push-to-Stop – from prepress to the ramp. This is because process automation creates more productivity and digitization creates better cooperation between man and machine.”

However, individual modules for increasing efficiency and productivity alone have not been sufficient to take the leap towards the smart printing industry. A unifying, global and agile platform that opens up and makes use of all these technologies must be created for cooperative work in a network of customers, printers, fulfilment partners and logistics. “But we can’t do this on our own,” admitted Hundsdörfer. “It must be a cross-vendor project with a uniform access for all systems, with a standardized data format, a uniform interface, IoT machine data acquisition and Vendor Managed Inventory” (the supplier-controlled inventory management of consumables).

He made it clear that finding a common data exchange format will be a huge task. “We know that JDF doesn’t work,” said Hundsdörfer (incidentally, Heidelberg played a major role in the development of JDF). “Our vision is a central platform for automated supplier and customer management that connects all partners involved in the value chain,” argued Hundsdörfer. There is no question that such a project is quite visionary. So, let us be surprised with what will become of this vision.

Er konnte natürlich noch nicht wissen, dass die drupa 2020 abgesagt werden würde, als er mit seiner Keynote den ersten Veranstaltungstag eröffnete. Denn die zielte inhaltlich auf das bevorstehende Großereignis der Branche.

Dabei präzisierte Rainer Hundsdörfer, CEO der Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG, seine Vorstellung davon, wie Print künftig funktionieren müsse. Und er zeigte zugleich auf, welche Hürden von der Industrie noch zu nehmen sind, um die nächste Stufe der Print-Evolution zu meistern. Seine Vision über die neue „DNA for Print“ teilte er exklusiv und erstmals öffentlich mit den Teilnehmern des OPS 2020.

Natürlich ließ es sich Hundsdörfer nicht nehmen, in seiner Keynote auf die aktuelle wirtschaftliche Situation des Unternehmens einzugehen, die in jüngster Zeit von der deutschen Wirtschaftspresse ordentlich zerpflückt wurde. „Heidelberg ist weit von einem Kollaps entfernt, auch wenn seltsame Artikel durch die Landschaft geistern“, sagte Hundsdörfer. Heidelberg sei mit einem weltweiten Marktanteil von 42% bei Bogenoffsetmaschinen mehr als marktrelevant und nach wie vor als Technologieführer zu sehen. Wobei das Angebot schon lange über den reinen Maschinenbau hinausgehe und heute die konsequente Digitalisierung und Automatisierung aller Produktionsprozesse einschließe.

„Unser Weg ist es, die nächste Stufe zur smarten Druckerei zu erreichen, um dann vom smarten Print Shop zur smarten Druck-Medienindustrie zu gelangen“, sagte Hundsdörfer. Dazu müssten aber einige Fragen geklärt und Antworten gefunden werden: Wie wickle ich immer mehr Aufträge in kürzester Zeit ab? Wie erziele ich unabhängig vom Bediener konstant hohe Produktivität? Wo bekomme ich das Personal überhaupt noch her? Wie treibe ich die Digitalisierung von Prozessen weiter voran? Und wie automatisiere ich das Lieferanten- und Kundenmanagement?

Sein e Antwort auf dieses Bündel an Fragen: „Push-to-Stop – von der Vorstufe bis zur Rampe. Denn Prozessautomatisierung schafft mehr Produktivität und Digitalisierung eine bessere Zusammenarbeit von Mensch und Maschine.“

Doch für den großen Schritt zur smarten Druckindustrie reichten einzelne Module zur Effizienz- und Produktivitätssteigerung alleine nicht aus. Es müsse eine verbindende, globale und agile Plattform für kooperatives Arbeiten im Verbund von Abnehmern, Druckern, Fullfilment-Partnern und Logistik geschaffen werden, die all diese Technologien erschließt und einsetzbar macht. „So etwas können wir aber nicht alleine betreiben“, räumte Hundsdörfer ein. „Es muss herstellerübergreifend ein Projekt sein mit einem einheitlichen Zugang für alle Systeme, mit einem standardisierten Datenformat, einer einheitlichen Schnittstelle, IoT-Maschinendatenerfassung und Vendor Managed Inventory“ (die lieferantengesteuerte Bestandsverwaltung der Verbrauchsmaterialien).

Dabei machte er deutlich, dass es eine riesige Aufgabe sein wird, ein gemeinsames Datenaustauschformat zu finden. „Wir wissen ja, dass JDF nicht funktioniert“, so Hundsdörfer (an der Entwicklung von JDF war Heidelberg übrigens maßgeblich beteiligt). „Unsere Vision ist eine zentrale Plattform für automatisiertes Lieferanten- und Kundenmanagement, die alle an der Wertschöpfungskette beteiligten Partner verbindet“, argumentierte Hundsdörfer. Dass ein solches Vorhaben durchaus visionär ist, steht außer Frage. Lassen wir uns also überraschen, was aus dieser Vision wird.