Reseller only

Obviously, our Dutch neighbors are particularly creative when it comes to choosing business models. When it comes to marketing print products via the Internet, there are a number of different ways of doing so, all of which have their own appeal and chances of success. There are order brokers or print marketers without their own production capacities (who then have RPI produce them, for example), as well as pure online printers who print most of their products themselves, and when it comes to addressing customers, a distinction is usually made between B2C and B2B shops. A completely different approach is taken by Probo, an online printer based in the Netherlands, which only supplies resellers with digitally printed products in large format printing. A niche supplier, if you will, but very successful.

Founded in 2001 in Dokkum, North Holland, the company has been operating with an online presence since 2012 and has more than 3,000 active customers. This may not seem like much at first glance, but each of the resellers addressed by Probo can have a customer base of anywhere between four and five figures. The company has grown predominantly through well-established operations in the Benelux countries – with expansion into the UK and Germany, each with its own domain, being a logical consequence. In 2018, Probo generated a sales volume of over 40 million euros with around 330 employees and is one of the fastest-growing printers and market leaders in the Benelux countries.

René de Heij, CEO Probo; Source: #OPS2019

Therefore, the run of one copy in large format can prove worthwhile. In the Probo shop you will find over 200,000 print products in various sizes and on more than 250 materials, from asphalt stickers and photo prints to posters for outdoor advertising. Top sellers are large-format banners. But this market is becoming less and less interesting due to the fall in prices, according to Probo CEO René de Heij. In 2001, a square meter of banner was still sold at 12 euros – today it is only 7 euros. “Nevertheless, many online providers rely on these products because they sell well. However, this exposes them to an enormous price war and makes them largely dependent on Google for marketing,” explained de Heij in his lecture.

Instead of becoming the next Google addict, however, Probo prefers to be inspired by unusual ideas and implements its own concepts. Probo has now entered the label market and, as an LFP printer, is involved in the lucrative field of “digital textile printing” – not only with T-shirts etc., but also with bed linen, pillows and tablecloths. The “tried and tested” is obviously not enough. In his search for innovations, René de Heij has initiated a new business segment with “accusticpro”: This is a noise-absorbing textile interior made of recycled jeans. And de Heij has recognized large-format and personalized wall decorations as a new trend. Here, too, Probo combines e-commerce and fulfilment with its own production.

And since shipping the large-format products via courier services is extremely cost-intensive and in some cases unreliable, Probo is currently setting up its own transport service in the Benelux countries and western Germany with “Onbezorgd”. “Think big, start small, act fast” is the motto here as well, concluded René de Heij.

Offensichtlich sind unsere holländischen Nachbarn besonders kreativ, wenn es um die Wahl der Geschäftsmodelle geht. Bei der Vermarktung von Printprodukten via Internet gibt es ja verschiedene Wege, die wohl alle ihren Reiz und ihre Erfolgs-Chancen haben. Es gibt Auftragsvermittler oder Drucksachen-Vermarkter ohne eigene Produktionskapazitäten (die dann beispielsweise bei RPI produzieren lassen), daneben die reinen Online-Drucker, die das Gros ihres Angebotes auch selbst drucken, und bei der Kundenansprache unterscheidet man üblicherweise in B2C- und B2B-Shops. Einen völlig anderen Ansatz geht der aus den Niederlanden stammende Onlineprinter Probo, der ausschließlich Wiederverkäufer beliefert – und zwar ausnahmslos mit digital Gedrucktem im Large Format Printing. Ein Nischenanbieter, wenn man so will, aber sehr erfolgreich.

Das 2001 gegründete Unternehmen aus Dokkum in Nordholland betreibt seit 2012 eine Onlinepräsenz und pflegt einen Stamm von mehr als 3.000 aktiven Kunden. Das mag auf den ersten Blick wenig erscheinen, doch jeder der von Probo adressierten Reseller kann seinerseits durchaus einen vier- bis fünfstelligen Kundenstamm haben. Gewachsen ist das Unternehmen vor allem durch gut laufende Geschäfte in den Benelux-Ländern – die Expansion nach UK und Deutschland mit jeweils eigener Domain waren dann eine logische Konsequenz. 2018 hat Probo mit rund 330 Mitarbeitern ein Umsatzvolumen von über 40 Mio. Euro generiert und ist einer der wachstumsstärksten Drucker und Marktführer in den Benelux-Ländern.

René de Heij, CEO Probo; Source: #OPS2019

Auflage 1 im Großformat kann sich also lohnen. Im Shop von Probo finden sich vom Asphaltaufkleber über Fotodrucke bis zum Poster für die Außenreklame über 200.000 Printprodukte in den verschiedensten Größen auf mehr als 250 Materialien. Topseller sind großformatige Banner. Doch dieser Markt wird aufgrund des Preisverfalls immer weniger interessant, so der Probo-CEO René de Heij. 2001 wurde ein Quadratmeter Banner noch mit 12 Euro gehandelt – heute sind es nur noch 7 Euro. „Viele Online-Anbieter setzen dennoch auf diese Produkte, weil sie sich gut verkaufen lassen. Damit sind sie aber einem enormen Preiskampf ausgesetzt und bei der Vermarktung zum größten Teil auf Google angewiesen“, erläuterte de Heij in seinem Vortrag.

Statt aber der nächste Google-Süchtige zu werden, lässt sich Probo lieber von ausgefallenen Ideen inspirieren und setzt eigene Konzepte um. So ist Probo inzwischen in den Etiketten-Markt eingestiegen und beteiligt sich als LFP-Drucker am lukrativen Feld „digitaler Textildruck“ – und zwar nicht nur mit T-Shirts etc., sondern mit Bettwäsche, Kissen und Tischdecken. Dabei reicht „bewährtes“ offenbar nicht aus. Auf der Suche nach Innovationen hat René de Heij mit „accusticpro“ ein neues Geschäftsfeld angestoßen: Dabei handelt es sich um ein Lärm absorbierendes Textil-Interior aus recycelten Jeans. Und als neuen Trend hat de Heij großformatige und personalisierte Wanddekorationen erkannt. Auch hierbei verknüpft Probo E-Commerce und Fulfilment mit eigener Fertigung.

Und da der Versand der großformatigen Produkte über Kurierdienste äußerst kostenintensiv und zum Teil unzuverlässig ist, baut Probo mit „Onbezorgd“ zurzeit einen eigenen Transportservice in den Beneluxländern und im Westen Deutschlands auf. „Think big, start small, act fast“, sei auch hierbei das Motto, schloss René de Heij.